January 5, 2010

La rentrée

Posted in travailler tagged , , at 4:20 pm by Fat Girl Dancing

After two delightful weeks off, it’s back to work week.  I had three classes yesterday and a full five classes today.  I was surprised at how agitated the kids are!  You’d think, after such a long vacation, they’d have it all out of their system.  One teacher told me “They got used to talking during the vacation and now they can’t stop.”

It’s our normal classroom routine to sing one song at the very beginning of class, one active song after we go through our daily questions (how are you, how’s the weather, what day is it), and one closing song.  I decided to change the beginning song and active song, because I assumed the kids were getting sick of the old ones.  I know I was.  After six or seven weeks of “If You’re Happy and You Know It,” I was no longer happy, and I knew it.

My classes yesterday were so disappointed not to be doing “If You’re Happy and You Know It!”  They told me it was very ‘not cool’ that I’d switched the songs out.  I’m going to make them do the new song for a few more weeks until they know it, but then I might bring IYHaYKI back, or at least pull it out if we’re running long on time.

They’re all begging me to do the Reindeer Hokey Pokey again, even though I explained that we only played that as a Christmas game.

I began reading my classes “Where the Wild Things Are,” which they all call Max et les maximonstres, since that’s how it was translated here.  They will not be quiet, even when I’m reading to them!  Some of them are aw-ing about how cool the pictures are, some of them are trying to figure out what’s going on, some of them are complaining they don’t understand, and some of them are giving a running translation because they’ve memorized the book.

It’s a never-ending challenge, but it’s still worth it to hear them say “Coucou, Penny!” and come running up to me to give me a hug and a picture they’ve drawn for me.

Leave a Reply

