October 12, 2009

malade

Posted in travailler tagged , , , , , , at 2:28 pm by Fat Girl Dancing

Over the weekend, my slight sinus problems turned into a full-blown cold.  I’ve been medicating with familiar products I brought from the States and trying to rest and hydrate as much as possible.

This morning I had to put a new milk in the fridge, so I had warm milk with my cereal. That’s something weird about France. The milk doesn’t need refrigerating until you open it. There’s a cabinet with about 6-9 milks in it, just waiting to be used. We go through a milk a day, or at least a day and a half. I just use a little for my cereal in the morning!

I took an early bus and arrived at my secondary school with enough time to print out the worksheets for the day and make copies. I said hi to the teachers eating lunch in the breakroom, and they all said hi to me, but no one said “Hi, here, we’ll make room for you to sit with us,” so I ate my peanut butter and jelly sandwich while I was using the computer.

I told the teacher of the first class that I was planning to give the students American names today, and she said, “No, I don’t like that. They’re name is their identity, and it really annoys me to change it.”

I said, “Well, it was recommended by the CDDP.” (the academic group who led our training)

“I know, but it really annoys me,” she said, as if to say, “The matter is closed.” She smiled at me in that very French way that says “So what are you going to do about it?”

I told her, “Fine, but I’m still going to discuss the differences between American names and French names, and tell the students what their name would be in the US. Because it’s important for them to understand there is a difference.”

(All of the above was spoken in French, by the way)

I came up with a replacement idea quickly, but it really bugged me that she was criticizing and changing my lesson plans.

The theme of the lessons today was “How are you” and six different feelings. The first class picked up on the feelings pretty well, but the other two classes, both younger, had more trouble. I showed them flashcards of the different feelings, had them repeat it several times, but they still couldn’t translate it into something that happened to them. We’ll continue working on it during our second meeting this week instead of moving on to something new.

One of the little girls told me I was pretty, and then we bonded our our Hello Kitty things (her pencil box, my socks).

Tomorrow is going to be much more difficult. I teach five classes, and one of them is an honor’s class, so they already know some English! I’m going to need some more rest.

1 Comment »

  1. Charlebok said,

    I probably would’ve done it anyway. That’s why the French hate me.


Leave a Reply

